Carnival Youth wins EBBA Public Choice Award

European Border Breakers Awards 2016: European Commission's First Vice-President Frans Timmermans presented the Public Choice Award to Carnival Youth.

The winners of the 2016 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), the European music awards for emerging artists, have received their trophies this evening during a ceremony at Eurosonic Noorderslag in Groningen, The Netherlands. The ceremony was hosted by TV personality and musician Jools Holland and opened by the European Commission's First Vice-President Frans Timmermans, who also presented the Public Choice Award to the Latvian band Carnival Youth.

‘No Clouds Allowed’ is the title of Carnival Youth’s debut album: a beautiful, clever indie folk record, with modern rhythms, sharp lyrics, fresh keys and melancholic melodies. As far as their sound is concerned, Carnival Youth is somewhere between Bombay Bicycle Club and Arcade Fire, and in 2014 ‘No Clouds Allowed’ won a prize for best debut album in their home country of Latvia. They are currently working on their second album.

The EBBA show also featured outstanding performances by other 2016 winners: Álvaro Soler (ES), Aurora (NO), Kovacs (NL), Oscar and The Wolf (BE), Seinabo Sey (SE) and SOAK (IE). The other 2016 EBBA winners – Christine and The Queens (FR), Robin Schulz (DE) and Years & Years (UK) - could not perform at the show. In the upcoming year the EBBA TV show will be broadcasted by several European public broadcasters. Parts of the show can be watched through the Youtube channel of the EBBA.