NATALIE LA ROSE announced as winner of 2017 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA)

Today, simultaneously in Amsterdam and Los Angeles, Natalie La Rose was announced as the eigth winner of the 2017 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), the European music awards for emerging artists. La Rose was surprised by DJ Fernando at Dutch radio station FunX over a Skype transmission.

Amsterdam-born Natalie La Rose graduated as a singer and dancer in 2008, landing the role of Taylor McKessie in the Dutch version of High School Musical. With a keen interest in deep urban grooves, La Rose signed to US imprint Republic, a label distributed by Universal Music Group. Her debut single ‘Somebody’ featured a guest role by Jeremih, who provided the Whitney Houston-referencing hook. The track was released in January 2015 and immediately shot to fame, landing in the Top Ten in the US singles chart and charting in the UK, The Netherlands, Ireland, Denmark, Germany, Sweden and France.

Earlier, Alan Walker (no), Jaakko Eino Kalevi (fi), Namika (de), Walking On Cars (ie), Hinds (es), Jain (fr) and Filous (at) were also announced as winners of an EBBA. A total of ten EBBA winners will be announced in the upcoming weeks. The Awards Ceremony will take place on 11 January 2017 in Groningen, as part of the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival.


EBBA celebrate new and border-breaking artists who create today and tomorrow's music. From Adele (United Kingdom) to Christine & the Queens (France), the EBBA winners represent some of the standout European sounds of recent years. Other previous winners include Stromae, Gabriel Rios, Hozier, Of Monsters and Men, Mumford & Sons, Aurora, Disclosure, John Newman, C2C, Tokio Hotel, The Script, Years and Years, Robin Schulz, Carnival Youth,  MØ and Selah Sue.