The EBBA ceremony takes place on Wednesday, January 17 2018 in Groningen. The event is invite-only but will be recorded and broadcast on public TV stations throughout Europe.

How did you discover the music you love? Where is your favourite artist from?

The European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) are about breaking down borders and recognising emerging European rock, pop and dance artists who achieved success in other countries than their own. To do this, 10 European artists will receive an EBBA during a spectacular TV-show presented by BBC-legend Jools Holland. The show is organised in the context of Eurosonic Noorderslag, on the opening evening of Europe’s most exciting live music industry gathering of the year. Previous winners include now established artists such as Adele, Mumford and Sons, Kodaline, Christine and the Queens, Woodkid, Disclosure, Milky Chance, Selah Sue, Aurora, Damien Rice, Agnes Obel, Stromae, Caro Emerald and many more.

The EBBA are co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, and organised by Eurosonic Noorderslag, in partnership with the European Broadcasting Union. The EBBA are supported by Buma Cultuur, Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, Province of Groningen and the City of Groningen. With the EBBA, the European Union wishes to highlight the success of 10 debuting European artists in selling music and touring outside their home territory. These music awards aim to highlight Europe's great cultural and linguistic diversity in popular music. The EBBA provide the opportunity for the public to discover emerging European artists, and for their music to be spread and enjoyed across Europe.

How are EBBA winners discovered and nominated?

10 artists from different countries participating in the EU Creative Europe programme are awarded an EBBA Award on the basis of their first success in Europe outside their own country. This success is measured by airplay, sales and live performances in Europe.

The winners are selected on the basis of data, taken from the European Border Breakers Charts (compiled by Radiomonitor), from Nielsen Music Control research, the European Broadcasting Union, EBU radio stations, and from festivals participating in the European Talent Exchange Programme (ETEP).

Public Choice Award

During the award show, one of the EBBA winners will be presented with the Public Choice Award. This award will be presented to the act that has received the most votes from the general public. Voting will take place online.

This project has received funding from the European Union. This publication reflects the views only of the author, and the European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information it contains.